List of Arizona Governors

Arizona was the last contiguous state to be admitted to the union in 1912. Before then it was known as Arizona territory for 49 years after being formed from the New Mexico Territory. Here is a complete list of those that have held the Arizona Governor’s office since 1912.

Doulas Ducey (2015-Date)

Popularly known as Doug Ducey, he is the 23rd governor of the state of Arizona and assumed office in January 2015. He was the former executive officer of Cold Stone Creamery before he together with his partner sold the business. He had also served as the state’s treasurer before running for governor.

Jan Brewer (2009-2015)

Born Janice Kay Brewer in 1944, she was the 22nd governor of Arizona. Jan was an author and was the fourth woman to hold the Arizona governor’s office. Prior to her election, she was the state’s secretary succeeding Janet Napolitano.

Janet Napolitano (2003-2009)

The former attorney general of Arizona is also a well known lawyer and administrator. She was the 21st governor of Arizona and resigned when she became the United States Secretary of Homeland Security. She is currently the president of the University of California system.

Jane Dee Hull (1997-2003)

She is the oldest living former governor of Arizona. She was an educator before assuming the governor’s office in 1997 after her predecessor Fife Symington resigned from office. She was then elected and remained governor for the full term till 2003. She was the first woman to be elected to the office in Arizona.

Fife Symington (1991-1997)

Born in the year 1945, Symington is an American businessman and former politician. He served in the air force before being elected to office. The 19th governor of Arizona was elected to serve two terms but resigned in 1997 following charges of bank fraud and extortion.

Rose Mofford (1988-1991)

Rose Mofford was the 18th governor of the state of Arizona having risen up the ranks from an office secretary. She went on to become Arizona’s first female state secretary and the state’s first female governor. She succeeded Evan Mecham.

Evan Mecham (1987-1988)

Mecham was the 17th governor of Arizona and was also the first governor to be removed from office through impeachment. Prior to winning the seat, Mecham had unsuccessfully run for office several times without success. He was a decorated World War II veteran


Bruce Babbitt (1978-1987)

Bruce was born in the year 1938 and is among the living former governors of Arizona. He is also among the few former governors to have been elected on a Democratic ticket. Babbitt was the state’s 16th governor and also served as the US Secretary of the Interior from 1993 to 2001.

Wesley Bolin (1977-1978)

Bolin was the 15th governor of the state of Arizona and served the shortest term in office for any Arizona governor (five months). Prior to this, he had been the longest serving secretary of state having stayed in office for 28 years. He died in office.

Raul Hector Castro (1975-1977)

Raul Castro was born in Sonora, Mexico in 1916 and moved to the United States in 1926. He was the 14th governor of Arizona and was the first American born in Mexico to be elected governor. He had also served as a United States Ambassador.

Jack Williams (1967-1975)

Jack Williams was a well-known radio announcer who gained fame through his acres and rose through the ranks of Arizona’s politics. The former governor was a two-term mayor in Phoenix and served as Arizona’s governor for three terms. He was the first governor to serve a term of four years.

Samuel Pearson (1965-1967)

He was the 12th governor of Arizona. Samuel was born in 1919 and served within the Democratic National Committee as chairman in Arizona. He was born in Missouri, St. Louis. He was preceded in office by Paul Fannin.

Paul Fannin (1959-1965)

Fannin was a republican who served as the governor and later the senator for Arizona. He was born in 1907 and served six years as Arizona’s governor from 1959 to 1965. Prior to assuming public office, Fannin was a businessman.

Ernest McFarland (1955-1959)

He was the only person from Arizona to hold the top-most office in Arizona’s three branches of government. He was the 10th governor of Arizona and also served as the senate majority leader and chief justice of the Arizona Supreme Court.

John Howard Pyle (1951-1955)

Pyle graduated from the Arizona State University in the year 1930 and served as the state’s governor from 1951 through 1955. He was a republican and belonged to the Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity. He was the first governor in Arizona to have been born in the 20th century.

Dan Edward Garvey (1948-1951)

Garvey was born in Mississippi and was among the very first people to rise to the office of governor from secretaryship. Garvey had moved to Arizona territory working as an accountant for a railroad company.

Sidney Preston Osborn (1941-1948)

He was the 1st secretary of state for Arizona and later became the state’s seventh governor. Osborn went on to be elected to office for four consecutive terms. He was the second Arizona native to be elected to the governor’s office.

Robert Taylor Jones (1939-1941)

Taylor was the 6th governor of the state of Arizona and served three years in office. He was involved in construction of the Panama Canal and owned various businesses in Phoenix, Tucson and Chandler. Prior to assuming the governor’s office, he was the state senator from Maricopa.

Rawghlie Clement Stanford (1937-1939)

The former chief justice of the Arizona Supreme Court was the fifth governor of Arizona. Stanford was born in Buffalo, Texas on 1879 and moved to Arizona in 1881.

Benjamin Baker (1933-1937)

The former doctor was credited with delivering the most babies in Tempe prior to running for public office. He served as a doctor for more than 35 years and later became the 4th governor of Arizona.

Thomas Edward Campbell (1919-1923)

He was the first native-born republican to hold the Arizona governor’s seat. This was after the state achieved statehood and was admitted to the union in 1912.

George Paul Hunt (1912-1917)

Hunt was the 1st governor of Arizona and served a total of seven terms. He was instrumental on several issues such as capital punishment, silver coinage, income tax and compulsory education.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *